UNESCO GLOBAL GEOPARK

Copy of Tumbler Ridge UGGp - Weaver Peak - photo credit Destination BC and Mike Seehagel.j

tumbler ridge

GÉOPARC MONDIAL UNESCO

Untitled design-10.png

Colombie-Britannique

Tumbler Ridge est situé sur les pentes est des montagnes Rocheuses du nord de la Colombie-Britannique, au Canada. Dans une zone relativement petite, les collines, montagnes et vallées autour de Tumbler Ridge, sur les pentes est des montagnes Rocheuses du nord de la Colombie-Britannique, au Canada, contiennent une variété remarquable de caractéristiques géologiques dans des affleurements de roches principalement sédimentaires.

Untitled design-11.png

Le Géoparc mondial UNESCO de Tumbler Ridge est remarquable par sa localisation en milieu éloigné presque sauvage, donnant aux visiteurs le sentiment authentique d'une région frontalière peu peuplée. C’est le premier géoparc dans l’Ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, donc le premier témoin de la tectonique des plaques qui a mené à la formation des montagnes Rocheuses.

La géologie des montagnes et du piedmont s’étend du Précambrien au Crétacé, inclut même des dépôts du Pléistocène et conserve une partie de la rive de la Pangée du Trias, ainsi que fluctuations marines et fluviales de la Voie maritime intérieure de l'Ouest.

Untitled design-12.png

À tout cela s’ajoute une abondance de phénomènes paléontologiques, qui sont à la base de la recherche scientifique en cours, des expositions et des programmes éducatifs. Des empreintes de  dinosaures du Crétacé (dont beaucoup sont d'importance mondiale), un dépôt d'ossements de dinosaures du Crétacé avec des caractéristiques inhabituelles, et des poissons et reptiles marins du Trias sont d'une importance particulière.

Copy of Tumbler Ridge UGGp - Dinosaur Footprint at Wolverine River Geosite - photo credit
Copy of Tumbler Ridge UGGp - Mount Bulley and Bulley Glacier - photo credit Destination BC

Le Dinosaur Discovery Gallery à Tumbler Ridge constitue une attraction majeure, tandis que tout un réseau de sentiers de randonnée conduit à de nombreux géosites, y compris une abondance de cascades spectaculaires, de pistes de dinosaures, sommets des montagnes, formations de roches sédimentaires, grottes et canyons.

  • Untitled design-3
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - Cercle blanc
  • YouTube - Cercle blanc

UNESCO GLOBAL GEOPARK

Copy of Tumbler Ridge UGGp - Weaver Peak - photo credit Destination BC and Mike Seehagel.j

tumbler ridge

UNESCO GLOBAL GEOPARK

Untitled design-10.png

British Columbia

Tumbler Ridge is located on the eastern slopes of the northern Rocky Mountains in British Columbia, Canada.   Within a relatively small area, the hills, mountains and valleys around Tumbler Ridge, on the eastern slopes of the northern Rocky Mountains in British Columbia, Canada, contain a remarkable variety of geological features in predominantly sedimentary rock exposures. 

Untitled design-11.png

The Tumbler Ridge Global Geopark is notable for its remote, wilderness location, giving visitors the authentic feeling of a sparsely inhabited frontier region. It is the first Global Geopark in western North America, and therefore the first to represent the plate tectonics that have led to the formation of the Rocky Mountains. 

 

Mountain and foothill geology spans a Precambrian to Cretaceous time range, as well as Pleistocene deposits, and preserves part of the Triassic  Pangea shoreline, as well as the interchanging marine and terrestrial intervals of a fluctuating Western Interior Seaway.

Untitled design-12.png

This is complemented by an abundance of palaeontological phenomena, which form the basis for ongoing scientific research, exhibits and programs. Cretaceous dinosaur tracks (many of which are of global significance), a Cretaceous dinosaur bonebed with unusual features, and Triassic fishes and marine reptiles are of particular importance. 

Copy of Tumbler Ridge UGGp - Dinosaur Footprint at Wolverine River Geosite - photo credit
Copy of Tumbler Ridge UGGp - Mount Bulley and Bulley Glacier - photo credit Destination BC

The Dinosaur Discovery Gallery in Tumbler Ridge forms a major attraction, while a network of hiking trails leads to numerous Geosites, including an abundance of spectacular waterfalls, dinosaur trackways, mountain summits, sedimentary rock formations, caves and canyons.

  • Untitled design-3
  • Instagram - Cercle blanc
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - Cercle blanc
  • YouTube - Cercle blanc